John Heinz Dissertation Award

The John Heinz Dissertation Award is one of several activities designed to attract talented individuals to the field of social insurance and encourage the development of new administrators, scholars, and other professionals.

NASI is devoted to furthering knowledge and understanding of social insurance, health care financing, and related issues through research and education. The John Heinz dissertation award is designed to recognize and promote outstanding research by new scholars addressing social insurance policy questions. John Heinz served in the U.S. Senate from 1977 until his death in 1991. Senator Heinz was a leading expert in Congress on private pension and health care policy, as well as a member of NASI's Board of Advisors from the organization's inception in 1986.


Any dissertation addressing topics relevant to the planning and implementation of social insurance policy is eligible for nomination. This includes might include analysis of long-term care financing, the labor market effects of Social Security, cross-national comparisons and family social insurance protections. Nominations are encouraged from many disciplines and professions, including, but not limited to, actuarial science, disability policy, economics, public policy, social policy, health policy, history, philosophy, political science, social work and sociology.

Evaluation Criteria

A multidisciplinary awards committee will asses each dissertation according to the following criteria: contribution to the body of knowledge on social insurance, policy relevance of the findings, quality of the analysis, and clarity of the exposition. In cases of jointly authored components, the Committee expects that the related contribution of the co-authors will be explained fully.

See the Heinz Dissertation Award Winners

John Heinz Dissertation Award Committee (2009-2013)

Christine Bishop (chair), Heller School, Brandeis University
Courtney Coile, Wellesley College
Madonna Harrington Meyer, Maxwell School, Syracuse University
Rashi Fein, Harvard Medical School
James Morone, Brown University

For additional information contact Devin Cowens, Development Associate, at (202) 452-8097, ext. 1308 or