The Impact of Disparities on Families, Communities and the Nation: A Conversation on Policy Solutions

 Registration is closed for this event
November 18, 2015, 2:00 pm 3:00 pm
Location
A Members-Only Audio-Conference Series
United States
Contact Gerry Shea

National Academy of Social Insurance

The Impact of Disparities on Families, Communities and the Nation: A Conversation on Policy Solutions

A Members-Only Audio Conference Series of the National Academy of Social Insurance on November 18, 2015

What:
A members-only opportunity to be briefed on -- and provide input to -- a major new theme of the Academy’s work: how disparities in income, wealth and opportunity are impacting people’s lives and society as a whole, and how social insurance programs, broadly conceived, can best respond. This audio conference will feature a talk show-style conversation between the co-chairs of the 2016 annual policy research conference, David Colby, Kilolo Kijakazi, and Maya MacGuineas and will offer members the chance to engage with the co-chairs and each other on this topic.

When:
Wednesday, November 18, 2015 at 2:00pm Eastern / 1:00pm Central / 12:00pm Mountain / 11:00am Pacific

Who:

  • Welcome: Gerry Shea, Senior Advisor to the Board
  • David Colby, Independent Consultant
  • Kilolo Kijakazi, Urban Institute
  • Maya MacGuineas, Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget
  • Moderator: Mark Miller, Reuters and Retirement Revised

Register:
Pre-registration is required.

​​

Forthcoming audio conferences from the National Academy of Social Insurance:

  • Thursday, December 3, 2015, 1:00pm-2:00pm. Co-chairs of a new Academy study, “Medicaid as a Critical Lever in Building a Culture of Health” will discuss the broad trend to make community/population health a primary focus in health policy and health services.
  • Wednesday, December 16, 2015, 1:00pm-2:00pm, “Is Unemployment Insurance Meeting the Needs of People Hit by Growing Economic Disparities?”