Tuesday, October 25, 2022 


2022 Robert M. Ball Award 

The National Academy of Social Insurance is pleased to announce three recipients of the 2022 Robert M. Ball Award for Outstanding Achievements in Social Insurance: 

We hope you will join the Academy on October 25th as we honor Marian, Peter, and Jack for their numerous contributions to social insurance.  

“The National Academy of Social Insurance is thrilled to honor Jack, Peter, and Marian as our 2022 Robert M. Ball Award recipients,” said William Arnone, Chief Executive Officer. “Each has dedicated their extraordinary careers to public service and the development of sound social insurance and related policies. They continue to be actively involved in key issues of economic security, which is the theme of our multi-year Pathways to Economic Security Campaign, of which the Ball Award is part. We greatly look forward to honoring them in October.”  


Learn more about this year's honorees.



The 2021 Robert M. Ball Award at the REACH at the Kennedy Center. Photo: Sam Kittner










Date & Time: October 25, 2022, 5:00 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.


(in-person)  The REACH at the Kennedy Center River Pavilion 2700 F Street, NW Washington, D.C. 20566

What is the REACH? The REACH is the Kennedy Center’s living theater where diverse art forms collide to break down the boundaries between audience and art. It is an immersive learning center, a public incubator, and a set of dynamic, collaborative spaces within an architecturally innovative campus.
(virtual)   Zoom – links and details to be shared with registered attendees closer to the date of the event

Questions? Please contact Ariella Jailal, Program Coordinator, at ajailal@nasi.org.

Ball Award Sponsors (as of August 29, 2022)

Download the Sponsor Prospectus.



Howard and Margaret Fluhr



Michael Graetz

William and Rosalind Hoagland

Jan and Chris Jennings


Ken Apfel

Larry Atkins

Caring Across Generations 

Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

Lynn Etheredge

Federation of American Hospitals


National Council on Aging

Nexon Policy

Richard Sternhell

Drew Wynn



Donna Butts

Martha Coven

Daniel Halperin

National Organization of Social Security Claimants’ Representatives

Patterson Harkavy, LLC

Anna Rappaport

Fred Riccardi


The Pension Rights Center

Debra Whitman 

John Zablocki

Event Committee

(Alphabetical order as of July 6, 2022)

Henry J. Aaron, Brookings Institution

*William Arnone, Ex-Officio, National Academy of Social Insurance

Larry Atkins, Long-Term Quality Alliance

Karen Becker, USDA

Donna Butts, Generations United

*Harry Conaway, Policy Futures Network

*Cecilia Conrad, Lever for Change

Martha Coven, Princeton University

Jeffrey Crowley, O’Neil Institute, Georgetown Law

Jeff Cruz, American Federation of Government Employees

*Indivar Dutta-Gupta, CLASP

Nada Eissa, Georgetown Public Policy Institute

*Robert Espinoza, PHI National

*Jason J. Fichtner, Bipartisan Policy Center

*Howard Fluhr, Segal

*Merrill Friedman, Anthem, Inc.

Jason Furman, Harvard Kennedy School

Kali Grant, Georgetown Center on Poverty and Inequality

G. William Hoagland, Bipartisan Policy Center

*Douglas Holtz-Eakin, American Action Forum

Nan Hunter, Georgetown Law

Chris Jennings, Jennings Policy Strategies, Inc.

*Josie Kalipeni, Family Values @ Work

*Renée M. Landers, Suffolk University Law School

Jeffrey Liebman, Harvard Kennedy School

*Aparna Mathur, Amazon

David Nexon, Nexon Policy Insights (retired)

*Shaun C. O’Brien, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees

*Alaine Perry, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (retired)

Ronald Pollack, Families USA

*Earl R. Pomeroy, Alston & Bird, LLP

*William Rodgers III, Institute for Economic Equality, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

Damon Silvers, AFL-CIO

Richard Sternhell, RFK Human Rights Leadership Council

Jeanette C. Takamura, Columbia University School of Social Work

Kathleen Townsend, Economic Policy Institute

*Rebecca D. Vallas, The Century Foundation

*Paul Van de Water, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

Bruce Vladeck, Medicare Rights Center

Sulaiman Wasty, Sharakpur Limited

Claire Wulf-Winirek, Amazon

*Member of the Academy’s Board of Directors


Refund Policy: All proceeds from ticket sales and sponsorships for the 2022 Ball Award program support the Academy’s core educational and policy research programs, including COVID-19 initiatives. In case of event postponement or cancellation, unused tickets and other sponsorship benefits will be converted to a donation to the Academy. For ticket purchases only (not sponsorships): As requested, a 50% refund for ticket purchases will be issued in the event of full cancellation or postponement of the in-person event beyond fall 2022.

October 25th, 2022 5:00 PM through  7:30 PM
Event Fee(s)
Event Sponsorship
Policy Leader $10,000.00
Research Patron $5,000.00
Research Sustainer $2,500.00
Collaborator $1,500.00
Friend $500.00
Regular Registration $300.00
Online Only $75.00
Make a donation in recognition of the awardees. $1.00
Contact Name Ariella Jailal
Contact Email ajailal@nasi.org