National Academy of Social Insurance Elects New Members

For Release:
December 18, 2006
Contact: Jill Braunstein at (202) 452-8097

WASHINGTON, DC–The National Academy of Social Insurance (NASI) announced 83 new members today, one of the largest groups of new members in NASI’s history, bringing the total membership to more than 750 social insurance experts (see below for a complete list of new members).

"With the aging of the baby boomers, growing income gap, and continued high levels of immigration, social insurance is growing more important year by year. NASI is extremely fortunate to have a large and very diverse group of new members. This will help us to focus on a range of programs and bring balanced perspectives to all of our projects," said Anna Rappaport, Chair of the Membership Committee and member of the NASI Board of Directors.

The new members have distinguished backgrounds on many social insurance-related issues ranging from tax policy to long-term care, employment research, pensions, aging, and disability. They are affiliated with universities, government agencies, labor unions, businesses, think tanks, and advocacy organizations.

Academy members are recognized experts in Social Security, Medicare, workers’ compensation, unemployment insurance, and related social assistance and private employee benefits. Those selected for membership have distinguished themselves by improving the quality of research, administration, or policymaking in these areas. Members of the Academy volunteer their time to work on study panels, committees, conferences, talk to the media, and participate in other Academy projects.

Prospective members are nominated by current members and reviewed by a membership committee and invited by the Academy’s Board of Directors. For more information on NASI membership, visit the “About the Academy” section of the NASI website (

The National Academy of Social Insurance is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization made up of the nation's leading experts on social insurance. Its mission is to promote understanding and informed policymaking on social insurance and related programs through research, public education, training, and the open exchange of ideas.

New NASI Members (December 2006)

Melvyn Aaronson, United Federation of Teachers/American Federation of Teachers

Beth Almeida,
International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers

Katherine Baicker,
Council of Economic Advisors

Vicki Bajtelsmit,
Colorado State University

Susan Bartlett Foote,
University of Minnesota

Charles L. Betsey,
Howard University

Joseph R. Blasi,
Rutgers University

Lynn Blewett,
University of Minnesota

Sharon P. Brown,
Bureau of Labor Statistics

Barbara Butrica,
The Urban Institute

Kathleen Cameron,
Private Consultant, Washington, DC

Winthrop S. Cashdollar,
America’s Health Insurance Plans

Henry Claypool,
Independence Care System

Cecilia Conrad,
Pomona College

Sara R. Collins,
The Commonwealth Fund

Jeffrey S. Crowley,
Georgetown University

Julie Berry Cullen,
UC San Diego

Paul Davies,
Social Security Administration

Berthy De La Rose-Aponte,
Ticket to Work and Work Incentives Improvement Act

David Durenberger,
University of St. Thomas

Nada Eissa,
U.S. Department of Treasury

Kenneth Feinberg,
The Feinberg Group, LLC

Penny Feldman,
Visiting Nurse Service of New York

Frank E. Fennerty,
Board of Industrial Insurance Appeals

Howard Fluhr,
The Segal Company

Iris Freeman,
Advocacy Strategy

Philip Andrew Gambino,
Social Security Administration

Diane B. Garro,
Social Security Administration

Sherry Glied,
Columbia University

Lee Goldberg,
Service Employees International Union

Suzanne M. Guyan,
Costco Wholesale

Keith Halleland,
Halleland Lewis Law Firm

Scott Hauge,
CAL Insurance & Associates, Inc

Sarah Holden,
Investment Company Institute

Jill Houghton,
Ticket to Work and Work Incentives Improvement Act

Gerry Hudson,
Service Employees INternational Union

Jeffrey G. Johnson
,Washington State Labor Council, AFL-CIO

David Kieffer,
Service Employees International Union

Timothy J. Kelley,
Social Security Administration

Tom Klouda,
Committee on Finance, United States Senate

Barbara E. Kritzer,
Social Security Administration

K. Max Koonce,
Wal-Mart Stores, Inc/CMI

John A. Lancaster,
National Council on Independent Living

Cheryl Hill,
Lee U.S. Census Bureau

Jane McDonald Pines,

Roberta Milman,
Independent Consultant

Kenneth Mitchell,

Kimberly Morgan,
George Washington University

Susan O'Mara,
Virginia Commonwealth University

Susan B. Parker,
U.S. Department of Labor

Henry N. Patterson,
Patterson Harkavy, LLP

Robert Pavosevich,
U.S. Department of Labor

Alaine Perry,
United Spinal Association

Webster P. Phillips,
Social Security Administration

Larry J. Polivka
University of South Florida

Alicia Puente Cackley,
U.S. Government Accountability Office

Lois Quam,

William M. Rodgers,
Rutgers University

Robert M. Rothenberg,
Social Security Administration

Stephen Schondelmeyer,
University of Minnesota

Margaret M. Seminario,

Alexandra Shields,
Massachusetts General Hospital/Partners HealthCare System

Judy Schub,
The Committee on Investment of Employee Benefit Assets

Steven Siegel,
Society of Actuaries

Karen Smith,
The Urban Institute

Marta Sotomayor,

Michael Sparer,
Columbia University

Nancy L. Spears,
Pennswood Village

Debra Street,
University of Buffalo

Allyn C. (Lynn) Tatum,
Tyson's Foods, Inc.

Katherine Thornton,
Social Security Advisory Board

Sandy Timmerman,
MetLife Mature Market Institute

JoAnn Volk,

Dorothy L. Watson,
Independent Consultant

Angie Wei,
CA Labor Federation, AFL-CIO

Christian E. Weller,
Center for American Progress

Jeff Wenger,
University of Georgia

Debra Bailey Whitman,
Congressional Research Service

Arthur Wilcox,
New York State AFL-CIO

Michael Wiseman,
George Washington University

Laurie Young,
Older Women’s League

William Zachry,
Safeway, Inc

Ted Zegers,
Committee on Ways and Means, U.S. House of Representatives

See related news: