For Immediate Release | January 13, 2009


Margaret Ward at (202) 452-8097

WASHINGTON, DC— Forty-two individuals have been accepted into the National Academy of Social Insurance (NASI) this year, bringing the total membership to more than 800.

“This year’s pool of new members exemplifies what NASI stands for. They are experts whose work spans the full range of social insurance from Social Security to Medicare to Unemployment Insurance,” said NASI President Margaret Simms. “They are a diverse group of individuals working in government agencies, universities, labor, associations, and corporations, and represent a diverse constituency of backgrounds.”

Academy members are recognized experts in Social Security, Medicare, workers’ compensation, unemployment insurance, and related social assistance and private employee benefits. Those selected for membership have distinguished themselves by improving the quality of research, administration, or policymaking in these areas. Members of the Academy volunteer their time to work on study panels, committees, conferences, talk to the media, and participate in other Academy projects.

Prospective members are nominated by current members and reviewed by a membership committee and invited by the Academy’s Board of Directors. For more information on NASI membership, visit the “About the Academy” section of the NASI website (

The National Academy of Social Insurance is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization made up of the nation’s leading experts on social insurance. Its mission is to promote understanding and informed policymaking on social insurance and related programs through research, public education, training, and the open exchange of ideas.

New NASI Members (January 2009)

Alan Auerbach
University of California, Berkeley

Cynthia Bascetta
Government Accountability Office

Daniel Beland
Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy, University of Saskatchewan

Brian Boon
Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities

Craig Caplan
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

Christopher Chaplain
Social Security Administration

Kerwin Charles
University of Chicago

Courtney Coile
Department of Economics, Wellesley College

Russell Davis
Summit Health Institute for Research and Education

John Dyer
Food and Drug Administration

Barry Eigen
Social Security Administration

Gary Engelhardt
Syracuse University

Ingrid Evans
National Association of State Work Force Agencies

Gerry Fairbrother
Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center

Lynda Flowers

Lynn Friss Feinberg
Family Caregiver Alliance

Thomas Gustafson
Arnold & Porter LLP

Robert Guthrie
Curtin University of Technology

Alvin Headen
North Carolina State University

Peter Heller
SAIS, The John Hopkins University

G. William Hoagland

Kim Holland
Insurance Commissioner of the State of Oklahoma

Denise Holmes
Association of Academic Health Centers

Douglas Holmes

Douglas Holtz-Eakin
DHE Consulting, LLC

Ken Jacobs
University of California, Berkeley

Laurence Kotlikoff
Boston University

Joan Kuriansky
Wider Opportunities for Women

Thea Lee

Christine MacDonell
Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities

George A. (Sandy) Mackenzie

Anne Montgomery
U.S. Senate Special Committee on Aging

Daniel O’Brien
Social Security Administration

Thomas Parrot
Social Security Administration

Joseph Piacentini
U.S. Department of Labor

Bruce Siegel
George Washington University Medical Center

Brian Smedley
The Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies

David Stoesz
Virginia Commonwealth University

Juliann Sum
University of California, Berkeley

Margaret Weir
University of California, Berkeley

Julie Whittaker
Congressional Research Service

Alvin Winters
Social Security Administration

See related news: News About NASI

How can we help you?

Media Inquiries
Sponsorship Opportunities

Stay up-to-date on the latest research & policy updates.

Subscribe to our newsletter