For Immediate Release | January 31, 2008


WASHINGTON, DC— Forty-one individuals have been accepted into the National Academy of Social Insurance (NASI) this year, bringing the total membership to more than 800.

“This year’s pool of new members exemplifies what NASI stands for. They are experts whose work spans the full range of social insurance from Social Security to Medicare to Unemployment Insurance,” said NASI President Margaret Simms. “They are a diverse group of individuals working in government agencies, universities, labor, associations, and corporations, and represent a diverse constituency of backgrounds.”

Academy members are recognized experts in Social Security, Medicare, workers’ compensation, unemployment insurance, and related social assistance and private employee benefits. Those selected for membership have distinguished themselves by improving the quality of research, administration, or policymaking in these areas. Members of the Academy volunteer their time to work on study panels, committees, conferences, talk to the media, and participate in other Academy projects.

Prospective members are nominated by current members, reviewed by a membership committee, and invited by the Academy’s Board of Directors. For more information on NASI membership, visit the “About the Academy” section of the NASI website (

The National Academy of Social Insurance is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization made up of the nation’s leading experts on social insurance. Its mission is to promote understanding and informed policymaking on social insurance and related programs through research, public education, training, and the open exchange of ideas.

New NASI Members (January 2008)

Richard Balkus
Social Security Administration

Jason Barabas
Florida State University

Gloria J. Bazzoli
Virginia Commonwealth University

Joseph Betancourt
Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School

John B. Boyd
Boyd & Kenter, P.C.

Neil H. Buchanan
George Washington University Law School

Kenneth G. Buffin
Buffin Partners, Inc.

Melinda Beeuwkes Buntin

Donna Butts
Generations United

Andrea L. Campbell
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Ajay Chaudry
The Urban Institute

Brian D. Coyne
Amerigroup Corporation

Douglas Elmendorf
Brookings Institution

Stephen Embry
Embry & Neusner

Jennifer L. Erkulwater
University of Richmond

Amy Finkelstein
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

R. Turner Goins
West Virginia University

Marian E. Gornick
Retired, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Pamela Herd
University of Wisconsin, Madison

Rodney G. Hood
Multicultural IPA & Careview Medical Group

Jill R. Horwitz
University of Michigan Law School

Clare Hushbeck

Howard M. Iams
Social Security Administration

Renee M. Landers
Suffolk University Law School

Anthony T. LoSasso
University of Illinois at Chicago

Joanne Lynn
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Patricia MacTaggart
George Washington University

Brigitte C. Madrian
Harvard University of Kennedy School of Government

Todd McFarren
Workers’ Injury Law and Advocacy Group

Jean-Claude Menard
Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institution

Thomas Miller
American Enterprise Institute

Wilhelmine Miller
George Washington University School of Public Health & Health Services

Joseph Minarik
Committee for Economic Development

Ellen O’Brien
AARP Public Policy Institute

Paul K. O’Leary
Social Security Administration

David Pate
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Ruth T. Perot
Summit Health Institute for Research and Education, Inc.

Anthony R. Sarmiento
Senior Service America Inc.

Ishita Sengupta
National Academy of Social Insurance

Beth Kobliner Shaw

David G. Smith
Swarthmore College

Steven M. Teles
University of Maryland

See related news: News About NASI

How can we help you?

Media Inquiries
Sponsorship Opportunities

Stay up-to-date on the latest research & policy updates.

Subscribe to our newsletter