For Immediate Release | January 28, 2013


Jill Braunstein at (202) 452-8097

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The National Academy of Social Insurance (NASI) announced the acceptance of 72 distinguished new members, bringing the total active membership to over 1,000. (See below for a complete list of new members and their affiliations.)

Academy members are recognized experts in Social Security and retirement security, Medicare and health coverage, workers’ compensation, private employee benefits, unemployment insurance, and related social assistance programs. Individuals selected for membership have distinguished themselves by improving the quality of research, administration, or policymaking in one or more of these areas.

Members are at the heart of NASI,” said NASI President Larry Atkins. “We expect our new members will be engaged – many of them prominently and from a variety of perspectives – on fundamental issues of the role of social insurance programs and their demographic and financial challenges in the next decade. We look forward to recognizing, using, and sustaining their expertise and enthusiasm.  It is with great pleasure that we welcome them.”

New members are nominated by current Academy members in recognition of their significant and ongoing professional contributions to the field of social insurance. NASI members volunteer their time in study panels, advisory committees, and conferences. Members make significant contributions to NASI’s research, education, communication, and leadership development initiatives. For more information about NASI membership, visit the “About NASI” section of the website.

Newly elected members and their affiliation at the time of election:

  • Joel S. Ario, Manatt Health Solutions
  • Deborah Bachrach, Manatt, Phelps, & Phillips, LLC
  • Joseph R. Baker III, Medicare Rights Center
  • Karen Barnes, McDonald’s Corporation
  • Linda Bennett, American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees (AFSCME), AFL-CIO
  • Hal Bergan, Fast Enterprises, LLC
  • Donald M. Berwick, Center for American Progress
  • Thomas N. Bethell, NASI
  • Barry Bluestone, School of Public Policy and Urban Affairs, Northeastern University
  • Terry Bogyo, WorkSafeBC
  • Jeff Bontrager, Colorado Health Institute
  • Patricia M. Boozang, Manatt Health Solutions
  • Heather Boushey, Center for American Progress
  • John Burbank, Economic Opportunity Institute
  • Mike Chernew, Harvard Medical School
  • Yvette Chocolaad, National Association of State Workforce Agencies
  • Pamela Doty, U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services
  • Indivar Dutta-Gupta, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
  • Christina Smith Fitzpatrick, AARP
  • Laura Fortman, Frances Perkins Center
  • Richard Frank, Harvard University
  • Shawn Fremstad, Center for Economic and Policy Research
  • Scott Frey, Social Security Administration
  • Donald E. Fuerst, American Academy of Actuaries
  • Howard Gleckman, The Urban Institute
  • Leslie M. Greenwald, RTI International
  • Charlene Harrington, California HealthCare Foundation
  • Jeffrey Hayes, Institute for Women’s Policy Research
  • Catherine Hess, National Academy for State Health Policy
  • Lara E. Hinz, Women’s Institute for a Secure Retirement
  • Jane Horvath, Merck & Co.
  • Melissa Kahn, MetLife
  • Ruth Katz, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
  • Krystal Knight, Medicare Rights Center
  • Gary Koenig, AARP Public Policy Institute
  • Sharon Lacy, Bedrock Capital Management
  • Eric Laursen, Author and Journalist
  • Alex Lawson, Social Security Works
  • Sandra Levitsky, Department of Sociology, University of Michigan
  • David Lipschutz,Center for Medicare Advocacy
  • Kevin W. Lucia, Health Policy Institute, Georgetown University
  • Barbara Manard, LeadingAge
  • Diana L. Meredith, Committee on the Budget, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Lawrence Mishel, Economic Policy Institute
  • Robert A. Moffitt, Johns Hopkins University
  • Monique Morrissey, Economic Policy Institute
  • Patricia B. Nemore, Center for Medicare Advocacy
  • Carol Newman, State Compensation Insurance Fund
  • Lauren Hersch Nicholas, Institute for Social Research
  • Hector Ortiz, National Council on Aging
  • Earl Ralph Pomeroy III, Alston & Bird LLP
  • Kevin Prindiville, National Senior Citizens Law Center
  • Charles E. Reed, C.E. Reed and Associates
  • Adam J. Reese, Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services
  • Max I. Richtman, National Committee to Preserve Social Security and Medicare
  • Patricia Riley, George Washington University
  • Steve Savner, Center for Community Change
  • Paul M. Secunda, Marquette University School of Law
  • Tapen Sinha, Mexican Autonomous Institute of Technology (ITAM)
  • Max J. Skidmore, University of Missouri
  • Michael Smyer, Bucknell University
  • Erica Solway, Subcommittee on Primary Health and Aging, U.S. Senate
  • Ilene Stein, Service Employees International Union (SEIU)
  • John Shoven, Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research
  • Michelle Kitchman Strollo, Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
  • Vernon R. Sumwalt, The Sumwalt Law Firm
  • Rebecca D. Vallas, Community Legal Services
  • Robert G. Valletta, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco
  • Mikki Devine Waid, AARP Public Policy Institute
  • Chapin D. White, Center for Studying Health System Change
  • Valerie Rawlston Wilson, National Urban League Policy Institute
  • Nicole Woo, Center for Economic and Policy Research

The National Academy of Social Insurance is a non-profit, nonpartisan organization made up of the nation’s leading experts on social insurance. Its mission is to advance solutions to challenges facing the nation by increasing public understanding of how social insurance contributes to economic security.

See related news: News About NASI

How can we help you?

Media Inquiries
Sponsorship Opportunities

Stay up-to-date on the latest research & policy updates.

Subscribe to our newsletter