Gloria T Johnson

Conference Co-Chair

 Gloria T. Johnson is one of the most prominent labor leaders in the United States and a long-time advocate for women's and civil rights. She is currently leading the Labor Coalition for Community Action, a new organization comprised of AFL-CIO constituency groups. Johnson is co-chair of the National Academy of Social Insurance's 18th annual conference, “Older and Out of Work: Jobs and Social Insurance for a Changing Economy” and has been a NASI member since 2000.

"NASI's January 2006 conference will benefit tremendously from the fact that an exceptional personality such as Gloria Johnson, with life-long experience in the labor field, is volunteering her time and expertise to help plan it," said Marilyn Moon, NASI president.

Johnson was a founding member of the Coalition of Labor Union Women (CLUW) and served as its President from 1993 to 2004. Before being elected President, she served as CLUW's Treasurer for 17 years. During her years with CLUW, Johnson worked tirelessly for advancing equality for women and minorities in the workplace and in society, as well as for equal access to economic opportunities. The organization she led focused on issues such as women's and children's health care, family and medical leave, labor law reform, sweatshops, workers' and human rights, voter education and participation, organizing and political education.

Also in 1993, Johnson was elected an AFL-CIO Vice President. The second African American woman to hold this position, Johnson contributed to the Executive Council as Chair of the Committee on Women Workers and as a member of the committees on Civil and Human Rights, Legislative/Public Policy, Member Education and Training, International Affairs, Political Education, Strategic Approaches and Finance.

Gloria Johnson represented the American labor movement around the world, in Israel, France, Sweden, Taiwan, Japan, Belgium, Haiti, Brazil, Slovakia, Croatia, the Czech Republic, and Central and South America, where she spoke to trade union women and men on issues of special concern to women.

Among the many awards recognizing her exceptional contribution to the labor movement and civil rights are the Operation PUSH Award for Outstanding Women in the Labor Movement; the 1981 Economic Equity Award from Women's Equity Action League (WEAL) for outstanding achievement in the Labor Movement; the 1985 award from the Southern Christian Leadership Conference; the A. Philip Randolph Institute 1994 Achievement Award; the 1995 Wise Women Award presented by the Center for Women Policy Studies; and the NAACP first Annual Pathway to Excellence Award “Women of Labor” in 1995. In 1998, President Bill Clinton appointed her to the President's Commission on the Celebration of Women in American History. In 1999, she received the Eugene V. Debbs Award in Labor. In 2000, she received the National Black Caucus of State Legislators Labor Leader “Nation Builders” Award, and the National Committee on Pay Equity's Winn Newman Award.