Judy Feder

Co-chair of the Long-Term Care study panel

 Judy Feder is Professor and Dean of the Georgetown Public Policy Institute and one of the nation's leaders in health policy--most particularly, in efforts to understand and improve the nation's health insurance system. Together with Sheila Burke, she is co-chair of the study panel on long-term care at the National Academy of Social Insurance, of which she is a founding member. 

“Judy has a unique combination of health policy expertise, energy, and administrative skill,” says Mark Nadel, NASI member and a colleague of Feder's at Georgetown. “Long a leader in policy discussions of long-term care, with her characteristic energy and strategic vision she has been hugely successfully in leading the Georgetown Public Policy Institute in training a new generation of policy leaders.”

A widely published scholar, Feder's three decades of policy research began at the Brookings Institution and continued at the Urban Institute and, since 1984, at Georgetown. She has also held leadership positions in the Congress and in the Executive Branch. As staff director of the congressional Pepper Commission (chaired by Senator John D. Rockefeller IV), Feder is widely credited with setting the stage for the health reform debate of the 1990s. She became a key actor in that debate as a senior official in the Clinton Administration. In her three years as Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary at the Department of Health and Human Services, Feder helped shape the Administration's health care policy, working intensively with members of Congress and with the national media to promote the expansion of health care coverage.

Today, Feder pursues her policy leadership first and foremost by educating future policy leaders at Georgetown's Public Policy Institute. She continues her research as co-director (with Sheila Burke) of the Georgetown University Long-Term Care Financing Project and senior advisor to the Kaiser Family Foundation's Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured. Feder is past president and board member of AcademyHealth, a member of the policy council of the Association for Public Policy and Management, and an elected member of the Institute of Medicine and the National Academy of Public Administration.