The Academy’s 30th anniversary celebration honored eight living founding Board members of the Academy, who passed the torch to a new generation of social insurance leaders:

Henry J. Aaron is the Bruce and Virginia MacLaury Senior Fellow in the Economic Studies Program at the Brookings Institution.  He was recently featured in a series of podcast interviews with Founding Members of the Academy hosted by CEO William Arnone.  In 2007 he received the Robert M. Ball Award for Outstanding Achievements in Social Insurance.  In addition to being a Founding Board Member of the Academy, Aaron will be recognized for his lifelong commitment to social insurance as a distinguished analyst, policymaker, professor, speaker, author, and editor for over four decades.  Read Henry J. Aaron’s full profile.


Nancy J. Altman is the Co-Director of Social Security Works and Co-chair of the Strengthen Social Security coalition and campaign.  She will be recognized for her deep commitment to social insurance as an advocate for Social Security.  Social Security and private pensions have been the focus of Altman’s career for over 40 years.  Read Nancy J. Altman’s full profile.


Merton Bernstein, now retired, was the Walter D. Coles Professor of Law Emeritus at Washington University-St. Louis School of Law.  Merton Bernstein will be recognized at the Academy’s 30th Anniversary Celebration for his public service in education and government and as an advocate of Social Security.  Read Merton Bernstein’s full profile.


Eric Kingson, a Founding Board Member of the Academy and Professor of Social Work at Syracuse University, will be one of eight honorees at the Academy’s 30th Anniversary Celebration. He will be recognized at the 30th Anniversary celebration not only for his dedication to the Academy, but also for his role as a policy expert, researcher, educator, and dedicated Social Security advocate.  Read Eric Kingson’s full profile.


Theodore (Ted) R. Marmor is the Professor Emeritus of Public Policy and Management, Yale School of Management, and Professor of Political Science, Department of Political Science and the Institution for Social Policy Studies, Yale University.  Marmor has dedicated his career to promoting public understanding of social insurance programs in North America and Western Europe.  Read Ted Marmor’s full profile.


Alicia H. Munnell is the Director of the Center for Retirement Research at Boston College.  Munnell wasn’t just a Founding Board Member of the organization.  She was also the first President of the Academy and a 2009 recipient of the Robert M. Ball Award for Outstanding Contributions in Social Insurance.  Munnell has dedicated her career to informing the public and policymakers alike on Social Security, tax policy, and both private and public pensions. Read Alicia H. Munnell’s full profile.


Lawrence H. Thompson, now retired, was a Senior Fellow of the Urban Institute.  He was recently featured in series of podcast interviews with Founding Members of the Academy hosted by CEO William Arnone.  Now retired, Larry Thompson devoted most of his career to working in the federal government in the area of social insurance. Read Lawrence H. Thompson’s full profile.



Howard Young, now retired, was an Actuary and Independent Consultant.  Over the course of his career, Young used his expertise in actuarial science and economics to support social insurance initiatives and programs that would strengthen the American workforce. Read Howard Young’s full profile.