Internship programs at the National Academy of Social Insurance were established nearly 30 years ago to fulfill the vision of founder, Robert M. Ball, and other founding board members. The aim is to help develop the next generation of social insurance leaders.

In addition to work at their placement organizations, students in the Academy’s summer internship programs participate in weekly seminars, policy forums, and the annual Robert M. Ball Award celebration. These experiences allow students to interact with current leaders in the field. Seminars are classroom-style presentations geared towards deepening interns’ understanding of current issues in social insurance.

Our intern seminar schedule for 2021 featured the following presentations:

Friday, June 4: Social Insurance Overview

Friday, June 11: The Role of Social Insurance in Eliminating Poverty

Friday, June 18: Social Security: Will it be there for us?

Friday, June 25: SSI and SSDI: Present challenges and future policy fixes

  • Bethany Lilly
    Senior director for income policy at The Arc

Friday, July 2

  • Holiday
    No Seminar

Friday, July 9: Unemployment Insurance

Friday, July 16: Medicare and Health Policy

Friday, July 23: Workers’ Compensation

Frida, July 30: Care Economy

Friday, August 6: Medicaid and LTSS

  • Pearl Barnett
    Deputy director of operations, ADvancing States
  • Mary Kaschak
    Executive director, Long-Term Quality Alliance
  • Martha Roherty
    Executive director, ADvancing States
  • Christina Wu
    Research and policy director, Long-Term Quality Alliance

Friday, August 13: Final Seminar: The Path of Leadership

How can we help you?

Media Inquiries
Sponsorship Opportunities
Membership
Partnerships

Stay up-to-date on the latest research & policy updates.

Subscribe to our newsletter