November 6 – November 7, 2014

Hosted by Yale University Law School

This conference, hosted by the Yale University Law School, marks the 50th Anniversary of the passage of Medicare and Medicaid. This important anniversary, coinciding with health reform implementation, is an ideal time to reflect, from a legal perspective, on what these major statutes tell us about law, politics, and the legal and structural challenges both in the past and before us. The conference will bring together leading health law and policy scholars as well as policymakers who have played an instrumental role in designing and implementing these landmark statutes.

Watch the Live Webcast & View the Twitter Feed


Keynote Speakers

  • Jonathan Cohn
    Senior Editor, The New Republic
  • Ezekiel J Emanuel
    University of Pennsylvania, Vice Provost for Global Initiatives and Chair, Medical Ethics and Health Policy

Conference Speakers:

  • Nicholas Bagley – University of Michigan Law School
  • Einer Elhauge – Harvard Law School
  • Judith Feder – Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy
  • Abbe Gluck – Yale Law School
  • Thomas Greaney – Saint Louis University School of Law
  • Jacob Hacker – Yale University, Department of Political Science
  • Mark Hall – Wake Forest University School of Law
  • Allison Hoffman – UCLA School of Law
  • Heather Howard – Princeton University Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs
  • Nicole Huberfeld – University of Kentucky College of Law
  • David Hyman – University of Illinois College of Law
  • John Jacobi – Seton Hall University School of Law
  • Timothy Jost – Washington and Lee University School of Law
  • Daniel Kevles – Yale University, Department of History
  • Eleanor Kinney – Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law
  • Amanda Kowalski – Yale University, Department of Economics
  • Harlan Krumholz – Yale School of Medicine
  • Theodore Marmor – Yale University School of Management
  • Abigail Moncrieff – Boston University School of Law
  • James Morone – Brown University
  • David Orentlicher – Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law
  • Rahul Rajkumar – Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation, Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services
  • Sara Rosenbaum – George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health
  • Theodore Ruger – University of Pennsylvania Law School
  • Kip Sullivan – Member, Minnesota Chapter of Physicians for a National Health Program
  • Sideny Watson – Saint Louis University School of Law
  • Alan Weil – Health Affairs
  • Timothy Westmoreland – Georgetown University Law Center

Other Invited Guests:

  • Betsy Bradley – Yale University School of Public Health
  • Dean Paul Cleary – Yale University School of Public Health
  • Zachary Cooper – Yale University School of Public Health
  • Joseph Fins – Weill Cornell Medical College
  • Howard Forman – Yale School of Management, Yale School of Medicine
  • Lee Goldberg – National Academy of Social Insurance
  • Gregg Gonsalves – Yale Law School
  • Michael Graetz – Columbia Law School
  • Amy Kapczynski – Yale Law School
  • Ted Kennedy, Jr. – Epstein Becker & Green, P.C.
  • Aaron Kesselheim – Harvard School of Public Health, Harvard Medical School
  • Stephen Latham – Yale University Center for Bioethics
  • Jerry Mashaw – Yale Law School
  • Alice Miller – Yale Law School, Yale School of Public Health
  • Jonathan Oberlander – University of North Carolina School of Medicine
  • Kevin Outterson – Boston University School of Law
  • John Pakutka – The Crescent Group
  • Dean Robert Post – Yale Law School
  • Joseph Ross – Yale School of Medicine
  • Fiona Scott-Morton – Yale School of Management

This conference is supported by the Oscar M. Ruebhausen Fund at Yale Law School